Skip to content
Home > ‘The Conjuring’ Universe Timeline

‘The Conjuring’ Universe Timeline

The Conjuring

We Piece Together The TimeLine Of Supernatural Horrors In "The Conjuring" Universe

“The Conjuring” films share a universe filled with series of supernatural horror. In counting, the franchise consists of seven released films including, one yet to be released. As a rule, if you are a horror devotee, you should know all these films. But if you are a certified true horror devotee, you should know the correct way to watch them. If you have watched these films, you might have watched them in the order they were released. Indeed, the films were released to the big screen. However, they didn’t release in chronological order.

The Conjuring 2
The Conjuring 2

First, the 2018 film “The Nun.” The Nun, set in 1952, takes place in Romania. The film’s primary location is a monastery called the Abbey of St. Carta. The Nun explores the birth of the first evil that ignites the series; the demon, Valak. Valak is suspected of evil burdening when a nun commits suicide at the monastery. The suicide leads to Father Burke and Sister Irene’s journey to Romania, where they start an investigation.

The demon, Valak, enters the Conjuring universe in The Nun and strolls her way through the series. 

Valak, introduced in the 2013 film “The Conjuring,” the 2016 film The “Conjuring 2,” and finally, the 2017 film “Annabelle: Creation.” Alas, Valak makes her way into the world when she demonically possesses Father Burke and Sister Irene’s helper, Frenchie, also known as Maurice, at the end of the film. Maurice’s exorcism can be seen on video during Ed and Lorraine Warren’s lecture in The Conjuring. Ed and Lorraine Warren participated in the exorcism but later encountered Valak’s demonic wrath in “The Conjuring 2.”

Annabelle “The Conjuring”

Second, the 2017 film “Annabelle: Creation.” This film is about the creation and the possession of the demonic doll, Annabelle. The primary purpose of Annabelle: Creation is to explain how the demonic doll came into existence. The setting of the film is 1955, three years after the monastery incident in The Nun. The demon, Valak, can be merely seen in a photograph along with a group of nuns who includes one of the characters from Annabelle: Creation, Sister Charlotte.

Third, the 2014 film Annabelle, the setting for this film is 1967. The film depicts Annabelle’s actual demonic burden before she becomes imprisoned by Ed and Lorraine Warren. The film portrays the horrifying events of a family who comes in contact with Annabelle. The family turns to a church which results in an exorcism. A priest makes a reference to Ed and Lorraine Warren as problem solver to the Annabelle situation. However, he doesn’t reach them in time.

Fourth, the 2013 film “The Conjuring” occurs in the year 1971. Ed and Lorraine Warren make their first appearance in the Conjuring universe in this film to help a family experiencing paranormal attacks. The demonic doll, Annabelle, is shown stored away in Ed and Lorraine’s artifact room.

The Nun
The Nun

Fifth, the 2019 film Annabelle Comes Home. The Conjuring Universe is scattered and tends to need extra scenarios to fill gaps. Furthermore, the film begins in 1971 when Ed and Lorraine gain possession of the Annabelle doll. Ed and Lorraine create a blessed cage for the demonic doll that will remain in their artifact room with other evil objects. The film then transitions to 1972, when Ed and Lorraine leave for a trip leaving their daughter Judy with a babysitter. Annabelle and the other demons escape the artifact room while Ed and Lorraine are away.

Sixth on our list is the 2019 film “The Curse of La Llorona,” set in 1973. The Curse of La Llorona doesn’t feel like a film that is part of the Conjuring universe though it is. The film follows Anna Garcia and her children as they battle the curse of La Llorona. Terrified, the Garcia family seek a priest and come across the priest who appeared in Annabelle, Father Perez. Father Perez mentions Ed and Lorraine Warren to the Garcia family. Father Perez recommends Ed and Lorraine to help aid the Garcia family. Rafael Olvera, in the film, does help the family.

Seventh, the 2016 film “The Conjuring 2″ was set in 1977. In “The Conjuring 2,” Ed and Lorraine Warren deal with Valak once again. In this film, Peggy Hodgson and her family are haunted by a ghost of an old tenant, Bill Wilkins. Coincidentally, Valak is the one who is manipulating the spirit of Bill Wilkin to do her bidding.

The Nun
The Nun

In “The Conjuring 2,” another presence emerges, the Crooked Man. Lorraine fights off Valak while Ed deals with the Crooked Man. The film ends with Lorraine sending Valak back to Hell. And the Crooked Man manifests itself into a zoetrope toy that Ed ends up stored in the artifact room.

The eighth film, “The Conjuring: The Devil Made Me Do It,” is next in line with the Conjuring universe, set for release on June 4th, 2021. The movie tackles the real-life 1981 trial of Arne Cheyenne Johnson. Arne Cheyenne Johnson declared his innocence against a murder charge by claiming he was possessed by a demon, stating that the demon made him do it.

The anticipated film “Conjuring: The Devil Made Me Do It” is set for release. Now would be a great time to watch the films in chronological order to understand the Conjuring universe. The Conjuring timeline has made some objectives challenging to understand. Maybe watching the movies in chronological order can help many unanswered questions.

Source: Dead Talk Live

Contact Information:

Email: news@deadtalknews.com

Phone: +1 (650) 308-4023

Dead Talk Live is simultaneously streamed to YouTubeInstagramFacebookTwitch, and Twitter daily at 9:30 PM Eastern U.S. Time.

Shop official Dead Talk Live Merchandise at our Online Store